Skip to main content

ICC World Cup Betting Guide

The ICC World Cup consists of the best teams hailing from all over the world competing with each other in a winner-takes-all tournament. The international championship of One Day International cricket (ODI) gives punters of all levels an opportunity to test their betting skills. The tournament takes place every four years, and The ICC World Cup is one of the biggest cricket tournaments on the world’s stage. If you want to bet on this major tournament, you have many options. There’s a money line wager which is all about choosing a winner straight up. Since there are no draws in the ICC World Cup, punters have to decide which country’s team will take the victory. Proposition bets are popular since bettors can bet on which bowler or batsman will come out on top. Other prop bets include which player will score most runs or take most wickets. Read our guide below for a better understanding of the ICC Cricket World Cup and where you can place your bets at. Ready? Let’s go!

ICC World Cup

Best Sportsbook for Betting on ICC World Cup

Bet Now
Up to $300

Leo Vegas Sportsbook
$200Free Bet
Spin Sports Sportsbook
100% Up to $100
MrGreen Sportsbook
Up to $100
22Bet Sportsbook
Up to $100

1xbet Sportsbook
$200 Bonus
Rizk Sportsbook
100% Up to $100
Guts Sportsbook
100% Up to $100
Intertops Sportsbook
100 Spins Up to $3000
Karamba Sportsbook
100% Up to $100
Royal Panda Sportsbook

ICC Cricket World Cup History

The world cup was First hosted in England in 1975, and the Cricket World Cup came just four years after the first One-Day International (ODI) game was played. The International Cricket Council organized it due to the admiration of the one-day cricket at the time. That tournament was played over 60 overs and throughout the daytime with the players wearing traditional whites with the use of red cricket balls.

The 1979 World Cup saw the launch of the ICC Trophy competition to pick non-Test gaming teams to contest in the tournament. Canada and Sri Lanka were the first sponsors of this provision. The next edition, which was in 1983 was played in England. India were the surprise winners in 1983, flashing a cricket uprising in the subcontinent that has propelled them to the epicentre of cricket.

Betting on The ICC World Cup

Punters that plan to wager during the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 this page will serve as your guide. There are certain tournaments and leagues that cricket punters mark in their calendar. In the T20 League, there is the Indian Premier League and the Big Bash League certainly rank at the top. However, if there’s one event that positions above everything, then it should be the Quadrennial ICC Cricket World Cup. The Quadrennial ICC Cricket World Cup It is the masterpiece tournament that cricket enthusiasts and punters keenly wait for. When the tournament takes place every cricket bettor worth his/her salt will have their eyes on the six-week tournament in Wales and England. Cricket World Cup is the best tournament to be in. New to cricket betting? and wish to start your cricket betting runs with the ICC Cricket World Cup? Well, we’ve got you covered as well.

ICC Cricket World Cup Runners-up and Winners

Year Winners Runners-up Host(s)
2015 Australia New Zealand Australia / New Zealand
2011 India Sri Lanka India / Sri Lanka / Bangladesh
2007 Australia Sri Lanka West Indies
2003 Australia India South Africa / Zimbabwe / Kenya
1999 Australia Pakistan England / Scotland / Wales / Ireland / Netherlands
1996 Sri Lanka Australia Pakistan / India / Sri Lanka
1992 Pakistan England Australia / New Zealand
1987 Australia England India / Pakistan
1983 India West Indies England
1979 West Indies England England
1975 West Indies Australia England


Who won the most Cricket World Cups?

Australia is the most fruitful nation in history having won five World Cup titles (1987, 1999, 2003, 2007 & 2015). India and The West Indies have each won twice.

Who are the ICC Cricket World Cup defending champions?

Australia is the defending champions after they regained their title from India in 2015.

ICC World Cup betting

Top 10 Cricket World Cup Batsmen

  1. Sachin Tendulkar
  2. Ricky Ponting
  3. Kumar Sangakkara
  4. Brian Lara
  5. AB de Villiers
  6. Sanath Jayasuria
  7. Jacques Kallis
  8. Tillakaratne Dilshan
  9. Mahela Jayawardena
  10. Adam Gilchrist

Top 10 Cricket World Cup Bowlers

  1. Glenn McGrath
  2. Wasim Akram
  3. Sri Lanka’s Muttiah Muralitharan
  4. Chaminda Vaas
  5. Zaheer Khan
  6. Javagal Srinath
  7. Lasith Malinga
  8. Allan Donald
  9. Jacob Oram
  10. Daniel Vettori

Cricket World Cup Betting Tips

There is a wide range of markets that one can bet on for the Cricket World Cup. The top team runscorer bets and overs wagers for individual batsmen can be vastly profitable. Cricket World Cup tips include:

  • tournament winner
  • tournament top run scorer
  • top wicket taker

Cricket World Cup Betting Odds

Sportsbooks have England somewhat ahead of India in the gambling market. Australia is the next best with little unraveling New Zealand, South Africa, and Pakistan. West Indies are anticipated to have an outside chance with Bangladesh, Afghanistan and Sri Lanka long odds.

Check out